Angry Life Coach

 

I was watching an interview with a famed life coach and motivational speaker when the question was asked, “Do you get mad?” Naturally the woman responded with a “Yes” and went on to explain that a lot of the subjects and concepts that she teaches happen because she is the one who most needs to learn the lesson. And I was sitting there thinking to myself how incorrect the perception is  that people who take on the task of helping professionals never encounter the roadblocks or distressing emotions as everyone else. Oh boy, is this far from the truth.

Just today, as I was sitting in my living room having lunch and something on the television caught my attention. The actor was portraying a woman who had experienced deep grief as a result of losing a loved one and instantly it directed my mind to my experiences with such a loss. Initially this particular scene brought up feelings of anger and the desire for revenge as I remembered the aftermath of the most devastating time in my life. I could feel the weight of being a woman whose loss and pain were minimized and whose tears seemed to mean nothing. Every face and every experience came flashing back to me like pictures from a different movie and before I could get my revenge plan in motion grief hit me once more. I could feel within every cell the way my life had changed and the reality of being loss from the person that I used to be.

It is the result of watching character actors on television that brought to surface my own unresolved emotions that has sent me to writing this article in the first place. So yes, life coaches do get angry, as do ministers, counselors, healers etc…No one is immune to the natural experiencing of emotions. To be human is to have emotions. The way people react and use  emotions is what matters most. For me, with this particular situation, I headed for my computer to have a safe place to share and to let it all out (well most of it). Later, I will pray for the eyes who did not see my pain and the ears who refused to hear my crys. I will also affirm my life-past, present and future as a unique gift from God. I recognize that there is purpose in all things. I recognize that which is within my means to control, my actions, and that which is beyond my ability to control, the actions of others.

One thought on “Angry Life Coach

  1. I do consider all the ideas you have introduced to your post.
    They are very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for beginners.
    May just you please prolong them a bit from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

